List Of Cabinet Secretaries In Kenya 2022

List Of Cabinet Secretaries In Kenya 2022

Here is the updated list of all Cabinet Secretaries (CS) in Kenya as appointed by President Dr. William Ruto on Tuesday, September 27.The Cabinet of Kenya is made up of the President, Deputy President, Attorney General, and Cabinet Secretaries.

The Kenyan Cabinet consists of 22 ministries as laid down by the Constitution. Cabinet secretaries head and manage their respective ministries per the Constitution of Kenya.

Cabinet Secretaries are nominated by the President and then vetted by a parliamentary committee before their appointment.

The Cabinet secretaries report to the president and provide the Parliament with full and regular reports of their ministries. A Cabinet Secretary is not a Member of the Kenyan Parliament.

List of the CS and their Ministries:

  Ministry Cabinet Secretary
1. Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi
2. Interior & National Administration Kithure Kindiki
3. National Treasury & Planning Njuguna Ndung’u
4. Defense Aden Duale
5. Foreign & Diaspora Affairs Alfred Mutua
6. Water, Sanitation & Irrigation Alice Wahome
7. East Africa Community (EAC) Arid & Semi-Arid Lands (ASLs) & Regional Development Rebecca Miano
8. Trade, Investment & Industry Moses Kuria
9. Environment & Forestry Soipan Tuya
10. Public Service, Gender, & Affirmative Action Aisha Jumwa
11. Roads, Transport, & Public Works Kipchumba Murkomen
12. Tourism, Wildlife, & Heritage Penina Malonza
13. Lands, Housing, & Urban Development Zacharia Njeru
14. Health Susan Nakhumicha
15. Agriculture & Livestock Development Mithika Linturi
16. Information, Technology, & Digital Economy Eliud Owalo
17. Education Ezekiel Machogu
18. Energy & Petroleum Davis Chirchir
19. Youth Affairs, Sports, Arts Ababu Namwamba
20. Cooperatives & Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) Development Simon Chelugui
21. Mining, Blue Economy, & Maritime Affairs Salim Mvurya
22. Labour & Social Protection Florence Bore
See also  List Of Elected Women Representatives (Reps) in Kenya 2022.

Cabinet Secretaries  Salaries and Allowances in Kenya.

Basic Salary Ksh. 554,400
House Allowance Ksh. 200,000
Market Adjustment Ksh. 169,600
Total Salary/ Month Ksh. 924,000

Other Benefits

The cabinet secretaries are provided with several benefits such as:

Transport where they are provided with an official car with engine capacity not exceeding 3000cc

Health covers- An annual health cover is provided; one spouse and up to four children below the age of twenty-five years are fully dependent on the state officer, as follows: 

Inpatient: Ksh 10 million Outpatient: Ksh 300,000 Maternity: Ksh 150,000 Dental: Ksh 75,000 Optical: Ksh 75,000.

Airtime: Up to a maximum of Ksh 20,000 per month and Annual Leave Allowance: Ksh 50,000 per annual

Mortgage: Up to Ksh 40 million and Car Loan: Up to Ksh 10 million

What are the 3 main functions of Cabinet ministers?

A Cabinet minister has many important functions as part of their role.

Along with the Prime Minister, Cabinet ministers form the main decision-making group within the executive government – the Cabinet.

A Cabinet minister’s role includes:

  • directing government policy and making decisions about national issues
  • spending a lot of time discussing current national problems and how these can be solved
  • presenting bills – proposed laws – from their government departments.

Roles of the Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua 

The President Dr. William Samoi Ruto also assigned the listed below duties to his Deputy Rigathi Gachagua:

  1. Deputize for the President in the execution of the President’s functions; 
  2. Chair Cabinet Committees; 
  3. Oversee Implementation of Cabinet decisions across all Ministries and State Departments; 
  4. Coordinate Inter-Governmental relations between the National Government and County Governments comprising Chairing the Inter-Governmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC); 
  5. Liaison with Constitutional Commissions and Independent Offices in matters that require intervention by the National Government comprising budgets, policy formulation, and implementation of their recommendations; 
  6. Coordinate the planning and supervise the implementation of development partners-funded programs and projects; 
  7. Oversee Public Sector Reforms, and any other function as may be assigned by the President.
See also  List Of Elected MCAs In Mandera County 2022.

Read also:

President Uhuru Kenyatta’s 2018 Cabinet

You need also to compare President William Ruto’s Cabinet with Former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Cabinet in this second Term in 2018.

The 2013 Cabinet comprised 19 ministers serving in 20 dockets. The 2018 Cabinet comprised 22 CSs and has been retained by President Ruto in the 2022 Cabinet. The Constitution allows a minimum of 14 and a maximum of 22 cabinet positions.

Below is Former President Uhuru’s Cabinet Secretaries:

1. National Treasury Henry Rotich
2. Interior Fred Matiang’i
3. Tourism and wildlife Najib Balala
4. ICT Joseph Mucheru
5. Energy Charles Keter
6. Defense Racheal Omamo
7. Industrialization and Enterprise Development Adan Mohamed
8. Devolution and ASAL Areas Eugene Wamalwa
9. Transport and Infrusrture Development James Macharia
10. Agriculture, Fisheries, and Irrigation Mwangi Kiunjuri
11. Health Sisily Kariuki
12. Education Amina Mohammed
13. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Monica Juma
14. Environment and Forestry Keriako Tobiko
15. Public Service ,Yout,h and Gender Affairs Margeret Kobia
16. EAC Affairs Peter Munya
17. Water and Sanitation Simon Chergui
18. Sports and Heritage Rashid Achesa
19. Petroleum and Mining John Munyes
20. Labour and Social Protation Ukur Yattani
21. Lands Farida Karoney
22. No Docket Raphael Tuju

N/B. Of the 22 CSS in 2018, only six were women. Ruto’s inaugural cabinet comprises 7 women against a campaign promise of 50% of available positions.

Therefore, try and compare and see who made his best choices and leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *