List Of Elected MCAs In Lamu County

List Of Elected MCAs In Lamu County

Lamu is located on the Northern Coast of Kenya and is one of the Six Coastal Counties in Kenya. It borders Tana River County in the southwest, Garissa County to the north, the Republic of Somalia to the northeast, and the Indian Ocean to the South. 

Lamu is one of the six counties in the former Coast Province of Kenya. It covers an area of 6,273 square Kilometres. It has a total of 10 wards in its 2 constituencies. The county is headed by Governor Issa Timamy.

Functions Of MCAs

 i) The primary function of the members of the county assembly is to present the views and issues of the electorate to the county assembly for discussion. 

ii) They represent electoral units called Wards. 

iii) An MCA is a representative elected by registered voters to the county assembly.

iv) MCAs are also involved in the legislative process.

v) They also oversee the delivery of services by the county government to the people. 

Full list of all the 10 MCAs in Lamu County:

List Of Elected MCAs In Lamu County


Ward MCA Party
Shella Azhar Ali ODM
Basuba Deko Bana ODM
Mkomani Shekhuna Abbas ANC
Faza Mohamed Aboud FORD-K
Kiunga Bwana Mohamed UPIA
Hindi James Njaaga SAFINA
Mkunumbi Paul Kimani SAFINA
Hongwe John Mburu ANC
Witu Suleiman Mohamed PNU
Bahari Francis Ngure NARC- KENYA

MCAs Salaries in Kenya

According to a recent gazette notice by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC), an MCA earns a salary of Ksh 144,375 per month. This includes a basic salary of Ksh 86,625, a house allowance of Ksh 45,000, and a market adjustment of Ksh 12,750.

See also  List Of Elected MCAs In Siaya County 2022.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *